Kohli back for South Africa series, Thakur and Shami recalled

Adjust Comment Print

Virat Kohli returns to the limited-overs side to lead India while pacers Shardul Thakur and Mohammed Shami were included in the 17-man one-day global squad for the six-game series against South Africa in February.

India has announced a 17 membered squad for the 6 Match ODI series against South Africa. Making way for the returning first-choice players were fast bowler Siddharth Kaul, who remains uncapped, and 18-year old allrounder Washington Sundar. Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan and Kohli make up the top three, with Ajinkya Rahane as the possible back-up opener.

Leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal and left-arm wrist-spinner Kuldeep Yadav have continued to impress in white-ball cricket.

"Probably from the England series, that's where we will have a core team, and may be we fix up on a certain number and focus from there on". Because the class and the form that he is in, it is really unfortunate that (he) is missing out. May be in times to come, KL will definitely get a look-in. The two teams will also play three Twenty20 internationals.

Читайте также: Careless Reds blew it, admits angry Klopp

Prasad made it clear that Mahendra Singh Dhoni is set to continue till the 2019 World Cup as some of the younger keepers, who have been tried, are not even close to the former Indian captain's level. "We keep repeating this".

"With every game they have been improving a lot. Probably after this series, we have to think about that", Prasad said.

Squad: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni, Ajinkya Rahane, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzi Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohammad Shami and Kedar Jadhav.

При любом использовании материалов сайта и дочерних проектов, гиперссылка на обязательна.
«» 2007 - 2018 Copyright.
Автоматизированное извлечение информации сайта запрещено.

Код для вставки в блог